Road to 31

Our quest to see a game in every NFL stadium

Lambeau Field – Green Bay, WI (1/31)

Sunday December 28th, 2008 Week 17: Lions @ Packers (“The 0-16 game”) This was my first trip to Lambeau Field and I have to say, I was impressed. Located in the heart of Green Bay, pretty much directly in a neighborhood, the drive in passes houses cloaked in Packers signs and locals selling parking spots on their front lawns. Parking is simple (we opted for the tailgating lot, opposite the Don Hutson practice facility) and most everybody was down to earth. Brats and beer, sometimes the combination of the two, are virtually everywhere so an appetite is a must in cheese land. The place is drenched in history and its simple old-school design fits it perfectly. The thing that makes Lambeau Field cool is it’s multi-faceted nature. You’re at a professional contest, the layout rivals a college venue but you feel as if you’re at a high school game. There isn’t a bad seat in the house, the energy level was high throughout and as much as it pains me to say this – the fans were great. They are a very loyal, ardent group; there’s not much more I can say. I went neutral and didn’t wear any Bears gear as not to cause a stir and let Lauren enjoy herself, so I can’t speak on the fans’ friendliness to opposing fans. There also wasn’t a Lions fan for about 100 miles so I didn’t get to see that interaction either. As a Bears fan I was secretly hoping that this place would suck but the only complaint I really have is that it’s kind of like going back in time. They play “Bang on the Drum” after every touchdown, which is fine, but they seemingly have every Jock Jams CD on repeat throughout the game. Most of the TV timeout and break songs played are about as far from socially relevant as you can get and after a while it just gets kind of weird. A running joke about Lambeau is that if the offensive line starts to slip, they can just grab a few female Green Bay locals from the stands to fill in and nobody would notice… Now I know it’s not an exaggeration. That’s enough trash talk from me. Overall Lambeau is a great place to watch a game, and seeing how my wife is a die hard Packer fan I’m sure we’ll be back for a number of games in the future, and I’ll look forward to them.

Bought the grill for $3, screwed it together with a penny. Worked great

Pretty damn cold in Green Bay during December

Touchdown. She’s pumped

The Lions exit after making history… going 0-16

Leave a comment